Dangerous Goods by Air Revalidation

Congratulations to Paula who has successfully completed a 2 day Dangerous Goods by Air Revalidation course, passing with an amazing mark of 97%!


Packing, documentation or handling of dangerous goods

Paula is holder of the Dangerous Goods by Air (DGA1) certificate. However, because of the changing nature of air freight, legislation and threats, this certificate is only valid for two years. Paula successfully completed the bi-annual revalidation certificate to stay up-to-date with the latest industry standard regulations for shipping dangerous goods. This means she is able to continue to be responsible for the packing, documentation and handling of dangerous goods.


What are dangerous goods'

Items which may endanger the safety of an aircraft or persons on board it are classified as dangerous goods. These 'dangerous goods' can include: explosives, radioactive materials, flammable liquids, dangerous or volatile chemicals, strong acids, compressed gases, poisons, and aerosols. The air transportation of these dangerous materials can either be forbidden or restricted.


Who decides which goods are dangerous'

The internationally agreed rules for transporting dangerous goods by air are covered by the International Air Transport Association (IATA) International Dangerous Goods Regulations. Recognised by the global airline industry for over 60 years, the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR) is the most complete, up-to-date reference to ensure shipments are compliant with the latest regulations.


Who is responsible for determining if a product is dangerous goods'

The consignor or shipper; in other words - the person or business shipping the goods - is responsible for classifying, marking and packaging the dangerous goods.  Which is why, all operators involved in the carriage of dangerous goods must ensure that their staff are properly qualified to carry out their duties safely and legally. International law requires that all staff involved in the shipping, packing, documentation, carriage or handling of Dangerous Goods by Air must be trained to the required level listed in the ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organisation) Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air.

Back to news

Request a
call back

I'm interested in